Terms of reference

  • To advise the Senate and, where appropriate, the Quality Assurance and Enhancement Committee (QAEC) on all matters relating to the development of postgraduate taught education.*
  • To advise the Senate and, where appropriate, the Quality Assurance and Enhancement Committee (QAEC) on changes to higher degree regulations and the developments in UK and international policy on postgraduate education.
  • To implement new initiatives concerning postgraduate students as requested by the Senate and Quality Assurance and Enhancement Committee (QAEC).
  • To determine the standards and framework by which departments operate for postgraduate taught education.
  • To oversee the processes of quality assurance for taught postgraduate degrees.
  • To propose and advise on modifications to College regulations and procedures that affect postgraduate taught students.
  • To consider the reviews of new and existing programmes, including those for joint postgraduate taught programmes.
  • To oversee minor changes in existing programme curricula and examination structures approved by Departments.
  • To approve new modules, changes in module titles, major changes in examination structure and marking schemes, and programme specifications for existing degree programmes and inform Senate.
  • To review proposals for new programmes and awards, major changes in the curriculum for existing programmes, and the discontinuation of existing programmes, and make recommendations to Senate as appropriate.
  • To approve marking schemes for postgraduate taught programmes.
  • To approve the appointment of examiners and to consider external examiners’ reports.
  • To appoint panels to consider special cases for admission and other circumstances.
  • To oversee all special cases.
  • To advise on matters relating to the recruitment and registration of postgraduate students.
  • To oversee the professional skills development programme for postgraduate taught students in the College.
  • To seek ways to develop and improve the postgraduate student experience.
  • To oversee surveys that include postgraduate students.
  • To have oversight of the College’s responses to postgraduate funding calls or other opportunities.
  • To maintain an overview of the statistics on admissions, completion rates, withdrawals, destination statistics for students, examination irregularities (including cases of plagiarism), student appeals and disciplinaries and report these annually to Senate.
  • To report to Senate.

There will be two separate committees – one for Business, Engineering & Physical Sciences (BEPS) and one for Medicine, Life Sciences & the School of Professional Development (MLSPD).

Constitution and membership


  • Director and Deputy Director of Graduate School (one to be Chair)
  • Deputy Chair; Vice- Provost (Education)
  • Director of Student Support
  • a College Consul for Natural Sciences
  • a College Consul of Medicine
  • a College Tutor
  • a representative chosen by the Head of Department (usually the Director of Postgraduate Studies or a Course Organiser) from each of the relevant constituent departments
  • one representative from the School of Professional Development
  • the Academic Registrar (or nominee)
  • one student representative from each of the relevant areas including the ICU Deputy President (Education) and the GSU President; with the power to co-opt.
 Professor Susan Gibson  Graduate School Director
 Dr David McPhail  Graduate School Deputy Director (Deputy Chair)
 Professor Debra Humphris  Vice Provost (Education)
 Professor Denis Wright  Director of Student Support
 Professor Andrew Parry  College Consul for Natural Sciences
 Professor Myra McClure  College Consul for Medicine
 Dr Mick Jones College Tutor 
 Mr Dean Pateman  Academic Registrar
 Professor Simon Taylor-Robinson  Department of Medicine
 Dr Duncan Rogers  National Heart & Lung Institute
 Dr Christine Franey  School of Public Health
 Professor Kate Hardy  Department of Surgery & Cancer
 Dr Kleoniki Gounaris  Department of Life Sciences
 Dr Martyn Kingsbury  School of Professional Development
 Ms Natalie Kempston  ICU Deputy President (Education)
 Mr Andreas Thomik  GSU President
 TBA  Academic & Welfare Officer – Non Faculty
 Ms Marta Sawicka  Academic & Welfare Officer – Life Sciences
 Ms Nuha Yassin  Academic & Welfare Officer – Medicine
 Mr Bojan Cvijan  Quality Assurance Administrator as Secretary
Summary of the table's contents

Meeting dates and deadlines

Committee dates 2015/16Submission deadlines 2015/16
12 November 2015 29 October 2015 
Summary of the table's contents

Agenda items (including papers) should be submitted to the committee secretary two weeks prior to the committee meeting. Papers will normally be circulated to members one week prior to the committee meeting. 



Academic year 2015/16

Academic year 2014/15

Academic year 2013/14

Academic year 2012/13

For committee minutes prior to 2012/13, please contact the committee secretary.