Terms of reference

  • To advise the Quality Assurance & Enhancement Committee (QAEC) and where appropriate the Vice-Provost Advisory Group (Education) and/or Vice-Provost Advisory Group (Research) on all matters relating to the development of postgraduate education and research as regards PhD, MPhil, EngD and MD(Res) degrees, including any impact on MRes degrees, including collaborative programmes.
  • To advise the QAEC and where appropriate the Vice-Provost Advisory Group (Research) and/or Vice-Provost Advisory Group (Education) on changes research degree regulations and  the  developments  in  UK  and  international  policy  on  postgraduate  education  and research
  • To implement new initiatives concerning postgraduate research students as requested by QAEC and/or the Vice Provost Advisory Group (Research)
  • To determine the standards and framework by which departments operate for postgraduate education and research
  • To propose and advise on modifications to College regulations and procedures that affect postgraduate research students
  • To oversee the processes of quality assurance for postgraduate research degrees (including those for collaborative programmes) including the development and dissemination of precepts for postgraduate research programmes and the sharing of good practice

  • To oversee precept and periodic reviews of existing research degree programmes, including collaborative programmes, and to provide an annual summary of outcomes arising from the reviews to QAEC/Senate

  • To consider proposals for new reearch degree programmes, major changes to research degree programmes, the withdrawal of research degree programmes, including those for collaborative programmes, and make recommendations to QAEC as appropriate
  • To undertake reviews of new and existing programmes or awards, including those for joint postgraduate research programmes and awards, including, the periodic reviews of research training, and make recommendations to QAEC as appropriate
  • To consider major changes in programmes, the discontinuation of existing programmes, including those for joint and collaborative postgraduate research programmes, and make recommendations to Senate as appropriate
  • To receive minutes from each of the Joint Postgraduate Research Degree Programme Committees
  • To receive the minutes of the Graduate School’s CDT/DTP Governance Committee
  • To approve postgraduate research examiners and to consider matters arising from their reports
  • To appoint the Special Cases Panel for research programmes and to oversee all special cases, for example for registration, extensions, appointment of examiners and restriction of access to theses
  • To advise on the format and presentation of theses
  • To advise on matters relating to the recruitment and registration of postgraduate research students

  • To oversee the professional skills development programme for postgraduate research students
  • To oversee the professional skills development programme for postgraduate research students in the College
  • To receive the minutes of the Graduate School’s Postgraduate Professional Development Committee
  • To seek ways to develop and improve the postgraduate research student experience (for example by reference to results from student feedback and relevant surveys)
  • Consideration of Faculty action plans for the Postgraduate Research Experience Survey (PRES) or similar surveys
  • The preparation of a summary report on issues and emerging themes, with appropriate recommendations for action, arising from the Committee’s consideration of relevant survey results and student feedback for submission to QAEC
  • To receive and consider statistics for research students on admissions, completion rates, withdrawals, referral and failure rates, destination statistics, examination irregularities (including cases of plagiarism), student appeals and disciplinaries, making recommendations for action as appropriate.
  • To report regularly to QAEC

Constitution and membership


  • Graduate School Director (Chair)
  • Graduate School Deputy Director (Deputy Chair)
  • Vice Provost (Education)
  • Academic Registrar (or nominee)
  • One College Tutor
  • One elected College Consul
  • One representative from each department (normally the Director of Postgraduate Studies)
  • One representative from the Centre for Higher Education Research and Scholarship / Centre for Languages, Culture and Communication
  • One representative from the Business School
  • Graduate School Deputy Director (Professional Skills)
  • the ICU Deputy President (Education) and the GSU President (or their nominees) plus up to 3 student representatives as agreed by the GSU & ICU; with the power to co- opt. 
  • An Assistant Registrar as secretary

The Heads of collaborative research degree programmes will be invited to attend for relevant items.

Membership (Academic year 2018/19)
Professor Sue Gibson Director of the Graduate School as Chair
Professor Tony Magee Deputy Director of the Graduate School (Deputy Chair)
Professor Simone Buitendijk Vice Provost (Education)
Mr David Ashton Academic Registrar (or nominee)
Professor Yun Xu College Consul
Professor Peter Allison Deputy Director of the Graduate School (Professional Skills)
Dr Matthew Santer Aeronautics
Dr Angela Kedgley Bioengineering
Professor Serafim Kalliadasis Chemical Engineering
Professor Ahmer Wadee Civil and Environmental Engineering
Professor Alessandra Russo Computing
Dr Hamed Haddadi Dyson School of Design Engineering
Dr Saskia Goes Earth Science and Engineering
Dr Christos-Savvas Bouganis Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Professor Eduardo Saiz Materials
Dr Salvador Navarro-Martinez Mechanical Engineering
Dr Enrique Martinez-Perez Institute of Clinical Sciences
Professor Kevin Murphy Department of Medicine
Professor Mike Lovett National Heart and Lung Institute
Professor Marjo-Riitta Jarvelin School of Public Health
Professor Michael Seckl Surgery and Cancer
Dr Jem Woods Centre for Environmental Policy
Dr Matthew Fuchter Chemistry
Dr Sally Leevers Crick Doctoral Centre
Dr Kleoniki Gounaris Life Sciences
Professor Henrik Jensen Mathematics
Dr Bill Proud Physics
Professor Carol Propper Imperial College Business School
Dr Jo Horsburgh Centre for Higher Education research and Scholarship / Centre for Languages, Culture and Communication
Mr Alejandro Luy ICU Deputy President (Education)
Ms Ute Thiermann GSU President
Ashley Brooks Student Representative
Emma Couves Student Representative
Raya El Laham Student Representative
Carina Zhao Student Representative
Hannah Jones Student Representative
Mr Scott Tucker Assistant Registrar as Secretary
Summary of the table's contents

Meeting dates and deadlines

Committee dates 2018/19Submission deadlines 2018/19
24 October 2018 10 October 2018
20 February 2019 06 February 2019
15 May 2019 01 May 2019
Summary of the table's contents

Agenda items (including papers) should be submitted to the committee secretary two weeks prior to the committee meeting. Papers will normally be circulated to members one week prior to the committee meeting. 



Academic year 2018-19

Academic year 2017-18

Academic year 2016-17

Academic year 2015-16

Academic year 2014-15

Academic year 2013-14

Academic year 2012-13

For committee minutes prior to 2012/13, please contact the committee secretary.