Terms of reference

  • To develop and advise the Senate on the implementation of College policies and procedures relating to the assurance of academic quality and standards in relation to the College’s programmes.
  •  To ensure that the College’s quality assurance and academic standards frameworks meet the expectations of relevant external national and international quality assurance bodies, and Professional, Statutory and Regulatory Bodies (PSRBs) where appropriate.
  •  To direct Departments and Faculties in the implementation of policy and regulation relating to the assurance of academic quality and standards, preparation for assessment of quality, programme review and enhancement.
  •  To undertake periodic reviews of undergraduate and Master’s level provision in Departments, and to report on the review, including the identification of good practice and recommendations for quality enhancement.
  •  To consider proposed changes to the academic and examination regulations and make recommendations to Senate. 
  •  To review the results of College wide student surveys (via sub-committees when appropriate) and make recommendations for action where necessary.
  •  On the advice of the Programmes Committee make recommendations to Senate on the approval of new programmes and short courses.
  •  On the advice of the Programmes Committee make recommendations to Senate on the major modifications to existing programmes and short courses (including suspension and withdrawal).
  •  To oversee the activities and receive the minutes of the Programmes Committee, Faculty Education Committees, Postgraduate Research Quality Committee, Admissions Networks and working groups as appropriate. 

Constitution and membership


  • Academic Registrar as Chair;
  • Deputy Director of the Graduate School
  • the Senior College Consul;
  • a senior representative with a responsibility for educational leadership from each faculty nominated by the Dean;
  • a senior representative from the School of Professional Development;
  • Chair of the Programmes Committee;
  • Head of Academic Services
  • ICU Deputy President (Education)
  • GSU President (or nominee)

Membership (Academic year 2017/18)
Mr David Ashton Academic Registrar (Chair)
Professor Anthony Magee Deputy Director of the Graduate School
Professor Peter Lindstedt Senior College Consul
Dr Edgar Meyer Chair of the Programmes Committee
Dr Lorraine Craig Faculty of Engineering Nominee
Dr Anita Hall Faculty of Natural Sciences Nominee
Professor Martin Lupton Faculty of Medicine Nominee
Ms Karen Tweddle Business School Nominee
MS Veronica Russell Business School Nominee
Ms Claire Stapley School of Professional Development Nominee 
Mr Nicholas Burstow Deputy President (Education) for Imperial College Union
Mr Luke McCrone President (Graduate Students' Union)
Ms Judith Webster Head of Academic Services
Ms Lucy Heming Senior Assistant Registrar (Quality Assurance & Enhancement) as Secretary
Summary of the table's contents


Meeting dates and deadlines

Committee dates (Academic year 2018/19)Submission deadlines (Academic year 2018/19)
03 October 2018 19 September 2018
07 November 2018 24 October 2018
19 December 2018 05 December 2018
30 January 2019 16 January 2019
13 March 2019 27 February 2019
10 April 2019 27 March 2019
05 June 2019 22 May 2019
Summary of the table's contents
Agenda items (including papers) should be submitted to the committee secretary two weeks prior to the committee meeting. Papers will normally be circulated to members one week prior to the committee meeting. Items to be recommended to Senate cannot be considered at the final meeting of the academic year.


Academic year 2018/19

  • 03 October 2018
  • 07 November 2018
  • 19 December 2018
  • 30 January 2019
  • 13 March 2019
  • 10 April 2019
  • 05 June 2019

Academic year 2017/18

Academic year 2016/17

Academic year 2015/16

Academic year 2014/15

Academic year 2013/14

Academic year 2012/13

For committee minutes prior to 2012/13, please contact the committee secretary.