Meeting regularly to discuss matters of importance on an array of topics, the ‌Department of Bioengineering has a number of working committees including:

  1. The Department Management committee,
  2. The Health and Safety committee,
  3. The Teaching Committee, 
  4. The Postgraduate Research Committee and
  5. The Equality and Departmental Culture Committee (EDCC)

These committees derive solutions and take actions to ensure that the Department is continuously improving, growing and providing a positive experience for staff and students alike. Below is a list of members belonging to each one. 

In addition to their research and teaching remit, academics have supplementary roles and these are detailed in the table below alongside committee responsibilities and Department Leadership.


Department Management Committee

DMC-Terms of Reference

Safety Committee


 Professor Anthony Bull, Chair and Head of Department

• Dr Danny O'Hare, Chemical Safety

• Mr Guy Fairhurst, Buildings Manager

• Dr Ian Radcliffe, Mechanical Safety

• Mr Ken Keating, Department Safety Officer

• Mr Paschal Egan, Electrical Safety

• Mr Ian Hackford, College Safety Department Representative 

• Dr Amanda Foust, Laser Safety

• Dr Claire Higgins, Tissue Use and Mechanical Safety

• Mr Jon Ryan, Fire Safety Advisor



Teaching Committee

DTC - Terms of Reference

  • Professor Manos Drakakis, Chair and Director of Courses

  • Dr Claire Higgins, Senior Tutor

  • Dr Warren Macdonald, Deputy Senior Tutor

  • Mr Martin Holloway, Academic Tutor

  • Dr Chiu Fan Lee, Director of Postgraduate Studies (Taught)

  • Dr Sylvain Ladame, MEng Molecular Bioengineering lead

  • Dr Danny O'Hare, Intercalated BSc lead

  • Mr Abhishek Roy, Departmental Student Rep

  • Dr Reiko Tanaka, Examinations Officer

  • Ms Jayne Shaw, Admissions and Outreach Manager

  • Miss Nicole Harbert, Secretary


Postgraduate Research Committee


Staff members:
Student members:



  • Dr Nick Linton, Chair and Academic Representative

  • Prof Claudia Clopath, Academic Representative

  • Dr Parry Hashemi, Academic Representative

  • Dr Julien VermotAcademic Representative

  • Dr Adam CelizAcademic Representative

  • Dr Tom OuldridgeAcademic Representative

  • Ms Ji Young Yoon, Professional Services Staff Representative 

  • Dr Jennifer Frattolin, Postdoc Representative

  • Mr Guillem Hurault, Postdoc Representative

  • Dr Muhsincan Sesen, Postdoc Representative 

  • Miss Caryn Urbanczyk, PhD Representative

  • Mr Julia Agramunt, PhD Representative 

  • Mr Roy Abhishek, Undergraduate Representative
  • Mr Rob Bell, Athena SWAN Coordinator

Academic Supplementary Roles




Head of Department Professor Anthony Bull
Deputy Head of Department Professor Manos Drakakis
Director of Teaching Professor Manos Drakakis
Director of Research Professor Darryl Overby
Director of Postgraduate Studies (Research) Dr Angela Kedgley
Deputy Director of Postgraduate Studies (Research) Dr Adam Celiz
Director of Postgraduate Studies (Taught) Dr Chiu Fan Lee
Academic staff line manager Professor Holger Krapp
Academic staff line manager Professor Peter Weinberg
Academic staff line manager Professor Simon Schultz
Academic staff line manager Dr Rylie Green
Senior Tutor (Taught Courses) Dr Claire Higgins
Deputy Senior Tutor (Taught Courses) Dr Warren Macdonald
Postgraduate Tutor (MRes and PhD) Professor Tom Ellis
Director of MRes Bioengineering Dr Armando Del Rio Hernandez
Dr Rodrigo Ledesma Amaro
Director of MRes Medical Device Design 
and Entrepreneurship
Professor James Moore Jr
Director of MRes Neurotechnology Dr Andrei Kozlov
MEng Biomedical Engineering lead Dr Spyros Masouros
MEng Molecular Bioengineering lead Dr Sylvain Ladame
Intercalated Bsc Biomedical Engineering lead Dr Danny O'Hare
MSc Biomedical Engineering stream leads Dr Huai Ti Lin (Neurotechnology)
Dr Neal Bangerter (Medical Physics and Imaging)
Dr Sam Au (Biomechanics and Mechanobiology)
MSc Human and Biological Robotics lead Professor Etienne Burdet
Elected Department Representatives Dr Andrei Kozlov
Dr Rylie Green
Disability Liaison Advisor Dr Sandra Roscoe
Examinations Officer Dr Parry Hashemi
GTA Officer Dr David Labonte
Project role: New BSc Business Ventures Professor Anil Bharath
Chair of Equality and Departmental Culture Committee Dr Nick Linton
Postdoc Champion Dr Chris Rowlands
PhD Cohort Mentors

Professor Holger Krapp
Huai-Ti Lin
Chris Rowlands
Claire Stanley

Dr Neal Bangerter
Dr Adam Celiz
Dr Tom Ouldridge

Professor Dario Farina
Dr Reiko Tanaka
Professor Mengxing Tang

Dr Ben Almquist
Professor Darryl Overby
Professor Peter Weinberg

Projects Officer (group projects) Dr David Labonte
Projects Officer (final year) Dr Julien Vermot
Seminar Coordinator Dr Naomi Nakayama
UG Exchange Programme Coordinator Dr Amanda Foust
Female Academic Network Coordinator Dr Claire Stanley
City and Guilds College Association Liaison Officer and Alumni Relations Dr Ben Almquist