Thermal Restoration Conversations

About this Challenge Team

Our Challenge Team aims to engage and empower the student community to adopt more sustainable behavior whilst also enabling College to facilitate this, combining supply and demand-side approaches.

We will be building on our accomplishments from the first year, during which we established connections within and among Imperial’s Head of Sustainability, Campus Services, Estates, and Residential Services & Support Operations, as well as Students Organizing for Sustainability UK (SOS). These connections will enable us to take forward an exciting program of work this year.

Partnering with SOS, we plan to organize an inter-hall competition to reward the halls which decrease their energy consumption the most relative to previous years based on energy meter readings provided by College Estates. Using the Accommodation Hub (AccHub) e-induction, and other opportunities like the Sustainability Week, we want students to tell us how much they think their behavior can impact their carbon footprint. Following this we will take them through a carbon footprint calculator which feeds them back tailored suggestions to decrease their carbon footprint, and helps them realize they have significant agency over their contributions to climate change.

The results of the carbon footprint calculator will be kept anonymously, and can highlight the student community’s sources of emissions. We plan to communicate this to the College’s Head of Sustainability, Prof. Paul Lickiss, who can then use this to guide any activity facilitating sustainable behavior whether that is a targeted information campaign, investments in infrastructure, or adapting on-campus catering for low-carbon food.

Depending on how we progress, we can also include College staff, and potentially evolve past carbon footprints to include water, land, and other environmental footprints.

Team Members

  • Elnaz Barati (Cohort 8)
  • Alexander Brunmayr (Cohort 7)
  • Ariane Dellavalle (Cohort 8)
  • Elizabeth Fonseca (Cohort 8)
  • Nicola Gambaro (Cohort 8)
  • Ugo Legendre (Cohort 8) - Team Captain
  • Hannah Murdock (Cohort 8)
  • Romain Tort (Cohort 8)