Grave Foley

Role: I'm currently studying for a BSc Biochemistry with a Year in Research at Imperial College London

Subject area: Department of Life Sciences, Faculty of Natural Sciences

Nationality: American

I'm originally from Brooklyn, New York, and I moved to London a few years ago to pursue my undergraduate studies at Imperial. I am currently doing a 12-month research placement at the National Heart and Lung Institute as part of my BSc. During my time at Imperial, I have served as the UNICEF on Campus Fundraising Officer and the Interfaith Welfare Officer, and during my final year, I will serve as the president of Imperial College Catholic Society.



GCSE (or equivalent): High school diploma

A-level (or equivalent): My Advanced Placement (AP) classes included Biology, French Language and Culture, US History, Chemistry, English Literature and Composition, US Government and Politics, Calculus, Computer Science, Physics: Mechanics, Physics: Electricity and Magnetism, and 2-D Art and Design

• BSc Biochemistry with a Year in Research (ongoing), Imperial College London

Detail about Claudia


My research

As part of my current research placement at the NHLI, I am testing gene therapy approaches to treat pulmonary alveolar proteinosis, a rare lung disorder.

My inspiration

My inspiration

My cousin’s daughter has cystic fibrosis, so she inspired me to research gene therapy for lung diseases so that I could help people like her.

My STEM hero

Who is your STEM hero?

Gregor Mendel, a Catholic monk and botanist who discovered the laws of inheritance through his experiments on pea plants. His work shows that interests in science and religion can complement each other, which is important to my identity as a Catholic student at Imperial.

A strand of DNA

Most significant discovery/invention?

The sequencing of the entire human genome with the Human Genome Project. 

A student in a lab

Career options after study

After I complete my undergraduate degree, I plan to pursue graduate studies that could allow me to stay in academia or become a genetic counselor with the NHS.

Manhattan seen from Brooklyn Heights Promenade

My hobbies

My hobbies include embroidery, pressing flowers, cooking Sunday dinners with my friends here in London, and taking walks to the Brooklyn Heights Promenade with my mom when I am back home.