Access to library services from White City Campus

Imperial College London staff and students based at the White City campus can use all Imperial libraries.

To borrow a book from any Imperial library you can request it by choosing White City as the pickup location. You can collect your book from the Library’s self-service book locker located in Student Support Services, Sir Michael Uren Building (West-side) at theWhite City campus.

We will send you an email when your reserved book is available and you will have 7 days to collect it. Collection times are 06.00 to midnight. You can also return books via the locker during these hours.

Visiting Hammersmith Campus Library

The nearest library to White City Campus is the Hammersmith Campus Library which holds a small collection of Chemistry books.

The library is on two floors:

  • Main floor (1st floor) - help desk, group study, books, print journals, printing and binding (open 11.30 - 15.00 Monday to Friday)
  • Ground floor - quiet and silent study, library training room, PC cluster (when not in use for training), printing (open 07.00 to midnight every day)

The library has around 70 computers across both floors and wireless access is available throughout for College members.

Hammersmith Campus Library is located in the Commonwealth Building at the Hammersmith Campus. Access to the Commonwealth Building is restricted and requires an Imperial College London ID card and a door PIN code.

To set up access and obtain your PIN Code:



  • visit the Hammersmith Security Office located on the ground floor of the Commonwealth Building during opening hours (Monday to Friday 10.00 to 12.00 and 14.45 to 16.00)

To access the Commonwealth Building report to the Main College Reception desk on the ground floor of the Imperial College Translational & Experimental Medicine Building (ICTEM). ICTEM Reception is open 08.00 - 17.00. You will not be able to access the Commonwealth Building without an ID and PIN Code outside these hours.

The College runs a free shuttle bus between the Hammersmith, White City and South Kensington campuses.