Brian Hoskins

Professor Sir Brian Hoskins

Chair

b.hoskins@imperial.ac.uk

 

Professor Sir Brian Hoskins was the Founding Director of the Grantham Institute and is now its Chair. He has been a Professor in Meteorology at the University of Reading for more than 35 years and now fills the position on a part-time basis. For 10 years he also held a Royal Society Professorship. His research is in weather and climate, in particular the understanding of atmospheric motion on all scales.

 Martin Siegert

Professor Martin Siegert

Co-Director

m.siegert@imperial.ac.uk
@mjsiegert

Professor Martin Siegert is the Co-Director of the Grantham Institute and Professor of Geosciences. Martin also represents the College as a member of the Climate Knowledge and Innovation Community (Climate-KIC) Governing Board.

 Ralf Toumi

Professor Ralf Toumi

Co-Director

r.toumi@imperial.ac.uk

 Professor Ralf Toumi is the Co-Director of the Grantham Institute.  

 

People

Research

 Headshot of Paulo Ceppi

Dr Paulo Ceppi

Imperial College Research Fellow and Proleptic Lecturer in Climate Science
p.ceppi@imperial.ac.uk
@PauloCeppi

Paulo is pursuing two main lines of research - understanding how the position of the jet streams and weather systems changes as the planet warms; and addressing the processes that determine the climate sensitivity, i.e. the amount of global warming that results from a doubling of carbon dioxide concentrations.

 Dr Ajay Gambhir

Dr Ajay Gambhir

Advanced Research Fellow
a.gambhir@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7594 6363 | @AjayGambhir11

Ajay's work focuses on the economics and policy of low-carbon technologies.

 Dr Edward Gryspeerdt

Dr Ed Gryspeerdt

Research Fellow
e.gryspeerdt@imperial.ac.uk
@EdGrys

The research in Ed's group focuses on the physics and properties of clouds and their role in the Earth's climate system. A major part of this is in assessing changes in clouds and rain caused by particulates (known as aerosols), particularly from shipping and aviation.

 Headshot of Jeff Hardy

Dr Jeff Hardy

Senior Research Fellow
jeff.hardy@imperial.ac.uk
@jjeh102

Jeff's research focuses on society-led low carbon energy  transformations and associated strategic narratives. He was previously Head of Sustainable Energy Futures at Ofgem. 

Neil Hirst

Neil Hirst

Senior Policy Fellow
n.hirst@imperial.ac.uk

+44 (0)20 7594 6306

Neil works with the Chinese government and other international energy policymakers on the reform of global energy governance and China’s participation.

Dr Alex Koberle

Dr Alexandre Köberle

Advanced Research Fellow
a.koberle@imperial.ac.uk
@alexkoberle

Alex works on long-term scenarios of socio-environmental change, with special focus on the nexus energy-land-climate to assess potential trade-offs and synergies for concurrent achievement of Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). He is currently adding to the development of the TIAM-Grantham model by improving the implementation of the agricultural and land use sectors to better represent land-energy interactions.

Portrait of Lena Lancastle

 

Lena Lancastle

Laboratory Technician
l.lancastle@imperial.ac.uk

Lena is working with Bonnie Waring on the Glandwr Forest reforestation project, which aims to accelerate and enhance the potential for carbon sequestration into trees and soils.

 Dr Shivika Mittal

Dr Shivika Mittal

Research Associate
s.mittal@imperial.ac.uk 

 

Shivika's research focuses on energy system modelling, low-carbon energy system transitions in developing countries from a technical and economic perspective, and climate policy. 

Professor Jenny Nelson 

Professor Jenny Nelson

Mitigation programme leader
jenny.nelson@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7594 7581

Jenny leads the Institute’s climate change mitigation research, which covers some of the key technologies for emissions mitigation such as low carbon energy technologies, as well as industrial emissions, energy systems modelling and mitigation policy. She is also a Professor of Physics, with her own research focussing on solar photovoltaics and related materials science.

 Dr Fredi Otto

Dr Friederike (Fredi) Otto

Senior Lecturer in Climate Science
f.otto@imperial.ac.uk
@FrediOtto

Fredis' main research interest is on extreme weather events such as droughts, heat waves and storms, and understanding whether and to what extent these are made more likely or intense due to climate change - known by experts as 'climate change attribution'.

 Headshot of Joeri Rogelj

Dr Joeri Rogelj

Director of Research and Lecturer in Climate Change and the Environment
j.rogelj@imperial.ac.uk 

Joeri works on connecting insights from geoscience with energy modelling and climate policy, in order to improve the understanding of solutions that can catalyse sustainable global transitions to a prosperous low-carbon world. His research focuses on actively informing the international climate policy debate through dedicated interdisciplinary research and analysis.

 Portrait of Dr Caroline Wainwright

Dr Caroline Wainwright

Grantham Institute Research Fellowship
c.wainwright@imperial.ac.uk

Caroline’s research interests are around climate variability and climate change in tropical regions, with a particular focus on exploring climate change related risk for populations in Africa whose livelihoods are strongly dependent on seasonal rainfall.

 Headshot of Bonnie Waring

Dr Bonnie Waring

Senior Lecturer 
b.waring@imperial.ac.uk

Bonnie's research focuses on the ecological interactions that control flows of carbon among plants, soils, and the atmosphere. Much of her work has been focused on carbon sequestration in tropical forests. 

 

Dr Mariam Zachariah

Research Assistant
m.zachariah@imperial.ac.uk 

Mariam works on near-real time attribution of extreme weather events, which involves analysing the event of interest within days of its occurrence, in order to understand whether and to what extent does human-induced climate change may have influenced its characteristics.

 

Dr Ivana Popovic

Research Associate
i.popovic@imperial.ac.uk 

Ivana is involved in the FiNaClim-SD project, which explores transition pathways to net-zero/nature-positive futures in the context of sustainable development objectives.

 

Dr Pauline Paterson

Research Associate
p.paterson@imperial.ac.uk 

Pauline is researching the public perceptions of the co-benefits of climate action in the UK, exploring which co-benefits resonate most with citizens and how this varies amongst different demographics.

Operations

Portrait of Emma Bowman 

Emma Bowman

Director of Operations
e.bowman@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0) 20 7594 8937

 

Emma leads on the overall operational management of the Institute. She supports the development and delivery of the Institute’s Business Plan, coordinates between programme, development, outreach and communication activities, and manages the Institute’s resources (staff and financial).

Portrait of Gosia Gayer 

Gosia Gayer

Institute Administrator 
Personal Assistant to Grantham Co-Directors
g.gayer@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7594  9666

Gosia provides executive level project management and administrative support to the Co-Directors. She also has responsibility for ensuring that the Institute’s day-to-day operations run smoothly, including its regular seminar and lectures, official visits as well as its facilities and central resources.

 Laila Read

Dr Laila Read

Project Manager
l.read@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)207 594 8628

Laila provides management, planning, financial, administrative and organisational support in the development and delivery of new research collaborations and projects, working across a range of disciplines and with a variety of funders. 

 Headshot of Rhea Samra

Rhea Samra

Project Coordinator
r.samra@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7594 1180

Rhea provides support to the Institute’s business and policy engagement activities, as well as personal assistance to the business, policy and innovation team. 

 Danielle Smith

Danielle Smith

Finance Administrator

Danielle handles all of the Institute’s day-to-day financial activities, advising and assisting staff and students with financial transactions.

 

Education

Anne Houston 

Anne Houston

Interim Director of Training
+44 (0)20 7594 5885

 

Anne is responsible for delivering the Institute's education programmes. She manages all educational activities including the NERC funded Science and Solutions for a Changing Planet (SSCP) Doctoral Training Partnership and the MSc in Climate Change Management and Finance.  

 Headshot of Christiane

Christiane Morgan

Doctoral Training Coordinator
c.morgan@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7594 1180

Christiane supports the running of the NERC-funded .

 

Policy & communications

  
 Alyssa Gilbert

Alyssa Gilbert

Director of Policy and Translation
a.gilbert@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7594 9665
@AlyssaRGilbert

Alyssa is responsible for making the link between our academic work and policy-makers, businesses, NGOs and other stakeholders. Her work involves engaging with a wide range of organisations and producing briefing papers, events and bespoke engagements that ensure that our work has impact. 

Simon Levey

Simon Levey

Communications Manager
s.levey@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)207 594 5650
@littlesimon

Simon’s role is to write news and organise events about climate and environmental research at Imperial, and coordinate public engagement activities and training. He also edits publications about climate science and policy for the Grantham Briefing Papers series. Simon is responsible for all communications about Grantham Institute staff, students and affiliates.

 Neil Jennings

Dr Neil Jennings

Partnership Development Manager 
neil.jennings@imperial.ac.uk
@NeilRJennings

Neil supports the dissemination of our research outside of Imperial via briefing papers, events, animations and infographics and through the development of strategic partnerships with business, policy and non-governmental organisations.

 

 Headshot of Katrine Petersen

Katrine Petersen

Campaign Manager - Climate Change Narratives
katrine.petersen@imperial.ac.uk

Katrine's role is to present an evidence-based narrative to a wide audience that showcases the causes of climate change, the options for action, and a vision of the future this can lead to. She works closely with the Grantham Research Institute at the London School of Economics. 

 Headshot of Hana Amer

Hana Amer

Media and Events Officer
h.amer@imperial.ac.uk

 

Hana organises the Grantham events calendar, coordinates public engagement activities and training and writes news stories for the website. [Working days: Tuesday to Thursday]

 Linsey Wynton

Linsey Wynton

Media and Outreach Officer
l.wynton@imperial.ac.uk

 

Linsey coordinates public engagement activities and training, manages media enquiries and writes news stories for the website.

Portrait of Philippa Westbury

Philippa Westbury
Hub Stakeholder Manager, CO2 Removal Hub (CO2RE)

p.westbury@imperial.ac.uk  

Philippa will be working on stakeholder engagement with the CO2RE consortium and will be based at the Grantham Institute.

 Lottie Butler

Lottie Butler
Digital Communications Officer

c.butler@imperial.ac.uk

Lottie manages the Grantham Institute’s online presence, including its website, blogemail newsletters and social media channels

Nicole Kuchapski

Nicole Kuchapski

Policy and Translation Support Officer
n.kuchapski@imperial.ac.uk

Nicole supports the translation of scientific research into communication products such as briefing notes, infographics and videos. She also liaises with a variety of stakeholders and partners to coordinate projects and events that seek to link our academic research to policymaking and public engagement. 

 

Innovation

 
 Richard Templer

Professor Richard Templer

Director of Innovation
r.templer@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7594 5874
@RichardTempler1

Richard leads the Grantham Institute’s innovation activities. He has led the founding of our centre for climate change innovation, a partnership with the Royal Institution of Great Britain and founding members, ARUP, the Mayor of London, HSBC UK, Octopus Centre for Net Zero, Pollination and Slaughter and May. In his work as a member of the London Sustainable Development Commission he has advised and supported the GLA in the development of London as a global hub for cleantech innovation.

 
 Naveed Chaudhry

Naveed Chaudhry 

Co-Founder & Head of The Greenhouse at the Centre for Climate Change Innovation
n.chaudhry@imperial.ac.uk

Naveed runs The Greenhouse and Climate Launchpad at the Centre for Climate Change Innovation. He manages a range of climate-positive companies in sectors such as agtech, energy, mobility, AI, eco-materials, and many others.

 Ajay Kathrani

Ajay Kathrani

Partnership Lead at the Centre for Climate Change Innovation 
a.kathrani@imperial.ac.uk

Ajay leads on brokering new opportunities for collaborative innovation with stakeholders and clients across London's cleantech community.  

 Sarah Achaichia

Sarah Achaichia 

Project Officer at the Centre for Climate Change Innovation
s.achaichia@imperial.ac.uk

Sarah supports the delivery of interventions to enable better coordination and collaboration amongst London’s cleantech stakeholders and experts.

 Rosa Salazar Benazar

Rosa Salazar Benazar 

Communications Coordinator at the Centre for Climate Change Innovation
r.salazar-benazar@imperial.ac.uk

Rosa supports the publicity, multi-channel communication activities and event management for the Centre for Climate Change Innovation.

 Guillermo Montero Rodriguez

Guillermo Montero 

Project Manager at the Centre for Climate Change Innovation
guillermo.montero-rodriguez18@imperial.ac.uk

Guillermo leads all project management activities for the Centre for Climate Change Innovation (CCCI). He is responsible for the relation and activities with the Greater London Authority and European Funding bodies for the CCCI. And financially manages all programmes and projects in the centre.

Portrait of Sophie Van Eetvelt

Sophie Van Eetvelt

Programme Manager of The Greenhouse at the Centre for Climate Change Innovation
s.vaneetvelt@imperial.ac.uk

Sophie will be managing the activities of The Greenhouse, working to coordinate with the rest of the CCCI and to ensure that the startup companies receive all the support they need via workshops, mentorship, networking and more.

Armelle Lee

Innovation Analyst at the Centre for Climate Change Innovation
armelle.lee@imperial.ac.uk> 

Armelle works at the Centre for Climate Change Innovation as an Analyst to support the activities of The Greenhouse accelerator programme

Raabiah Aslam

Project Analyst at the Centre for Climate Change Innovation
raabiah.aslam@imperial.ac.uk 

Raabiah supports project management and communication activities at the Centre for Climate Change Innovation. 

Portrait of Paul Rouse

Paul Rouse
Flexi Fund Manager, CO2 Removal Hub (CO2RE)

p.rouse@imperial.ac.uk

Paul will be working as Flexi Fund Manager for the CO2RE consortium and will be based at the Grantham Institute.

 

Honorary and Visiting

Visiting Researchers

 Headshot of Niklas Boers

Dr Niklas Boers

Visiting Researcher
n.boers@imperial.ac.uk

Niklas develops techniques rooted in complex system science and nonlinear dynamics to investigate different aspects of climate dynamics with applications in palaeoclimatology, extreme events and their connection to atmospheric teleconnections, as well as resilience of ecosystems.

 Dr Tanaka

Dr Josué Tanaka

Honorary Senior Fellow in Climate Finance

 

 

 

Honorary Research Fellows

Erik van Sebille

Dr Erik van Sebille

Honorary Grantham Lecturer in Oceanography and Climate Change
@ErikvanSebille

Erik is an oceanographer and climate scientist, investigating the time scales and pathways of the global ocean circulation. His research focuses on how currents and eddies in the ocean transport heat and nutrients, as well as marine organisms and plastics between different regions of the ocean.

 Kathryn Brown

Kathryn Brown

Honorary Research Fellow 

Kathryn is Head of the Committee on Climate Change (CCC)’s Adaptation Sub-Committee Secretariat, who undertook a secondment as a Research Fellow with the Grantham Institute.

 Yufeng Yang headshot

Professor Yufeng Yang

Honorary Research Fellow
yufeng.yang@imperial.ac.uk 

Yufeng's is from the Energy Research Institute (ERI) of the National Development and Reform Commission (NDRC) of China. His research focuses global energy governance and energy storage.

Richard Black outside with a tree behind him on a sunny day

 

Richard Black
Honorary Research Fellow

r.black@imperial.ac.uk  
@_richardblack

Richard’s interests encompass communication of climate change and decarbonisation, in particular the net zero transition. He was previously a BBC journalist and broadcaster, and founding Director of the Energy & Climate Intelligence Unit thinktank.

Roberto Buizza
Honorary Research Fellow 

roberto.buizza@santannapisa.it 

Roberto is serving as Scientific Attaché at the Italian Embassy in London, where he supports the work of the Italian diplomacy and leads the embassy's scientific activities. He is an expert in numerical weather prediction, Earth-system modelling, ensemble methods and predictability.