Workshops in 2023-24

September

20 Sep (Wed) Introduction to Blackboard Learn 10.00-12.00 (in person)

October

02 Oct (Mon) Introduction to supervising PhD students 09.30-16.30 (in person)

03 Oct (Tue) Introduction to teaching for learning 09.30-16.00 (in person)

05 Oct (Thu) Introduction to teaching in clinical contexts 09.30-16.00 (in person)

05 Oct (Thu) STAR Introductory workshop 14.00-16.00 (online)

10 Oct (Tue) and 20 Oct (Fri) Introduction to personal tutoring is in two parts, times are 10.00-12.30 (in person). Attendance is required at both sessions.

16 Oct (Mon) Introduction to assessment for active learning 10.00-13.00 (online)

17 Oct (Tue) Introduction to teaching for learning 09.30-16.00 (in person)

23 Oct (Mon) Introduction to Blackboard Learn 14.00-16.00 (online)

26 Oct (Thu) Introduction to making teaching more inclusive 13.00-16.00 (in person)

31 Oct (Tue) A Practical guide to interactive teaching 14.00-16.00 (in person)

November

02 Nov (Thu) A Practical guide to small group teaching 13.00-16.00 (in person)

06 Nov (Mon) STAR Introductory workshop 10.00-12.00 (in person)

07 Nov (Tue) Introduction to active learning Part 1 10.00-13.00 (in person). This course is in two parts, you are required to attend both sessions. Part 2 – 14 Nov (Tue) 10.00-13.00 (in person).

08 Nov (Wed) Focus on developing inclusive curricula using digital personas 10.00-13.00 (in person)

13 Nov (Mon) A Practical guide to designing effective assessment questions and marking rubrics 10.00-13.00 (online)

13 Nov (Mon) A Practical guide to inclusive learning for students with specific learning difficulties (SpLDs) - Group Discussion 13.00-14.00 (online)

20 Nov (Mon) Introduction to teaching for learning 09.30-16.00 (in person)

23 Nov (Thu) STAR Pre-submission workshop 10.00-12.00 (online)

29 Nov (Wed) Introduction to team-based learning (TBL) 10.00-13.00 (in person)

December

01 Dec (Fri) and 15 Dec (Fri) Introduction to personal tutoring is in two parts, times are 10.00-12.30 (in person). Attendance is required at both sessions.

05 Dec (Tue) STAR Introductory workshop 14.00-16.00 (online)

06 Dec (Wed) Introduction to supervising PhD students 09.30-16.30 (in person)

08 Dec (Fri) Introduction to Blackboard Learn 10.00-12.00 (in person)

January

08 Jan (Mon) STAR Introductory workshop - Senior Fellowship 10.00-12.00 (online)

09 Jan (Tue) Introduction to feedback and formative assessment in the Faculty of Medicine 09.30-13.00 (in person)

11 Jan (Thu) Introduction to supervising PhD students 09.30-16.30 (in person)

12 Jan (Fri) STAR Pre-submission workshop 14.00-16.00 (online)

16 Jan (Tue) Introduction to teaching in clinical contexts 09.30-16.00 (in person)

17 Jan (Wed) Introduction to being an assistant supervisor 10.00-13.00 (in person)

19 Jan (Fri) Introduction to assessment for active learning 10.00-13.00 (online)

February

01 Feb (Thu) Introduction to teaching for learning 09.30-16.00 (in person)

06 Feb (Tue) A Practical guide to communicating knowledge 10.00-15.30 (in person)

08 Feb (Thu) and 29 Feb (Thu) Introduction to personal tutoring is in two parts, times are 10.00-12.30 (in person). Attendance is required at both sessions.

12 Feb (Mon) STAR Introductory workshop 10.00-12.00 (online)

13 Feb (Tue) A Practical guide to giving effective feedback 10.00-13.00 (in person)

19 Feb (Mon) A Practical guide to designing effective assessment questions and marking rubrics 10.00-13.00 (online)

19 Feb (Mon) A Practical guide to interactive teaching 10.00-12.00 (in person)

20 Feb (Tue) Introduction to supervising PhD students 09.30-16.30 (in person)

22 Feb (Thu) Introduction to feedback and formative assessment in the Faculty of Medicine 13.00-16.30 (in person)

23 Feb (Fri) Introduction to AI for teaching, learning and assessment 10.00-13.00 (in person)

26 Feb (Mon) Introduction to Blackboard Learn 10.00-12.00 (online)

27 Feb (Tue) A Practical guide to making the most of one-off teaching 13.00-16.00 (in person)

tabs cont.

March

04 Mar (Mon) Introduction to making teaching more inclusive 13.00-16.00 (in person)

05 Mar (Tue) Introduction to team-based learning (TBL) 13.00-16.00 (in person)

06 Mar (Wed) Introduction to teaching for learning 09.30-16.00 (in person)

07 Mar (Thu) A Practical guide to inclusive learning for students with specific learning difficulties (SpLDs) - Group Discussion 15.00-16.00 (online)

07 Mar (Thu) A Practical guide to small group teaching 13.00-16.00 (in person)

08 Mar (Fri) STAR Introductory workshop 14.00-16.00 (online)

11 Mar (Mon) STAR Pre-submission workshop 14.00-16.00 (online)

18 Mar (Mon) Focus on developing inclusive curricula using digital personas 13.00-16.00 (in person)

21 Mar (Thu) STAR Introductory workshop - Senior Fellowship 14.00-16.00 (online)

22 Mar (Fri) Introduction to making digital content more accessible 10.00-13.00 (in person)

April

10 Apr (Wed) Introduction to Blackboard Learn 14.00-16.00 (in person)

11 Apr (Thu) A Practical guide to giving effective feedback 14.00-17.00 (in person)

11 Apr (Thu) Introduction to active learning Part 1 10.00-13.00 (in person). This course is in two parts, you are required to attend both sessions. Part 2 – 18 Apr (Thu) 10.00-13.00 (in person).

15 Apr (Mon) Introduction to teaching for learning 09.30-16.00 (in person)

16 Apr (Tue) Introduction to feedback and formative assessment in the Faculty of Medicine 13.00-16.30 (in person)

17 Apr (Wed) STAR Introductory workshop 10.00-12.00 (in person)

19 Apr (Fri) Introduction to supervising PhD students 09.30-16.30 (in person)

25 Apr (Thu) Introduction to teaching in clinical contexts 09.30-16.00 (in person)

26 Apr (Fri) Introduction to assessment for active learning 10.00-13.00 (online)

May

09 May (Thu) Introduction to Blackboard Learn 10.00-12.00 (online)

09 May (Thu) Introduction to embedding feedback literacy 10.00-13.00 (in person)

10 May (Fri) and 24 May (Fri) Introduction to personal tutoring is in two parts, times are 10.00-12.30 (in person). Attendance is required at both sessions.

10 May (Fri) Introduction to AI for teaching, learning and assessment 10.00-13.00 (in person)

14 May (Tue) Introduction to teaching for learning 09.30-16.00 (in person)

15 May (Wed) STAR Introductory workshop 14.00-16.00 (online)

22 May (Wed) STAR Pre-submission workshop 10.00-12.00 (in person)

23 May (Thu) A Practical guide to small group teaching 13.30-16.30 (in person)

28 May (Tue) Introduction to being an assistant supervisor 10.00-13.00 (in person)

30 May (Thu) Introduction to making teaching more inclusive 14.00-17.00 (in person)

June

03 Jun (Mon) A Practical guide to communicating knowledge 10.00-15.30 (in person)

06 Jun (Thu) Introduction to teaching for learning 09.30-16.00 (in person)

07 Jun (Fri) STAR Introductory workshop 10.00-12.00 (online)

10 Jun (Mon) STAR Introductory workshop - Senior Fellowship 10.00-12.00 (online)

13 Jun (Thu) A Practical guide to making the most of one-off teaching 10.00-13.00 (in person)

18 Jun (Tue) Introduction to Blackboard Learn 14.00-16.00 (in person)

19 Jun (Wed) STAR Pre-submission workshop 14.00-16.00 (online)

July

No workshops will be offered in July.

August

No workshops will be offered in August.