The Department of Earth Science and Engineering is committed to continually supporting and further developing a vibrant, diverse and inclusive community of staff and students. 

The Department’s Equality, Diversity, Inclusion and Culture (EDIC) Committee, chaired by Professor Joanna Morgan, is responsible for driving forward the equality, diversity and inclusion agenda in the department, providing support and guidance to all staff and students. The committee takes executive responsibility for the development and implementation of this strategy in conjunction with the Head of Department and Department Operations Manager, with membership drawn from all areas of the Department including staff and student representatives.

To support our EDIC aims, the Department has appointed Sophia Quazi to the role of 
Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Coordinator, working across the Departments of Mechanical Engineering and Earth Science and Engineering.

Our Departmental Values are: Supportive | Excellence | Integrity | Innovative | Inclusive | InspiringRead about how we are embedding ESE Values in our culture.

Prof Tina van de Flierdt"We aim to create a supportive, inclusive and flexible working environment for all staff and students as a priority.

It is hugely important to me – both on a personal level and as representative of ESE as Head of Department – that everyone in our community feels equally valued, respected, and supported."

- Professor Tina van de Flierdt, Head of Department