UK Government and Science Advisers

Government Office for Science

The UK Government Chief Scientific Adviser, Sir Mark Walport is an Honorary Distinguished Professor of Medicine at Imperial College London. There have been several previous Imperial staff who were Government Chief Scientific Advisers, including Sir John Beddington, (2008–2013), Sir David King (2000–2008), Sir Robert May (1995–2000).

Ministry of Defence

The Chief Scientific Adviser to the UK Ministry of Defence, Vernon Gibson, is Visiting Professor in the Department of Materials at Imperial. The position of Chief Scientific Adviser has frequently been held by an Imperial academic, including Sir Roy Anderson (2004–2008), Sir Keith O'Nions (2000–2004), Sir Ronald Oxburgh (1988–1993) and Sir Henry Tizard (1948–1952).

Chief Medical Officer

Professor Dame Sally Davies was appointed Chief Medical Officer in 2010. The Chief Medical Officer acts as the UK government’s principal medical adviser and the professional head of all directors of public health in local government. Professor Davies was Professor of haemoglobinopathies at Imperial College London from 1997–2011. In 2011, Davies was made Emeritus Professor at Imperial College London.

Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Professor Robin Grimes was appointed the Foreign and Commonwealth Office Chief Scientific Advisor in 2013. Since 2002, Professor Grimes has been Professor of Materials Physics at Imperial.