Internal Awards


The Sir Michael Uren Prize: celebrating excellence with the College’s most prestigious student prize.  

The prestigious Prize will be awarded annually and honour an outstanding postgraduate student whose research demonstrates real-world impact. This initiative aims to nurture exceptional research talent, acknowledge achievements, and commemorate Sir Michael’s enduring ties with the College. Presented at a College-wide level, the Prize will spotlight the transformative potential of work, prioritising societal impact over and across any specific disciplinary boundaries. 

Traditionally, departmental prizes at Imperial have recognised academic excellence, with numerous such accolades existing. These are an important recognition of academic excellence and typically honour individuals whose work stands out—for instance, achieving the highest exam score in their year or presenting the finest doctoral thesis in their field. While a few College-wide awards, like the Outstanding Student Achievement Award, exist, these primarily spotlight external activities and do not include a financial benefit for recipients. The Sir Michael Uren Prize is different, a perpetual College-wide award that celebrates both academic prowess and societal impact, providing a substantial financial award that can genuinely transform the recipient’s life and research. 

One of the core objectives of the Prize is to cultivate academic and impact potential. The financial award will allow the recipients the liberty to pursue their research interests and career aspirations, whether by extending their tenure at Imperial, innovating a prototype, engaging in a study period at another institution, or in some other way. For 23/24 we are awarding one prize of £20,000.  

Application Process: Each Department is encouraged to nominate one exceptional student using the The Sir Michael Uren Prize application form, limited to a maximum of 3 pages (Arial size 11 font). The HoD or a delegate must approve and submit nominations, with nominated individuals confirming their consultation on the nomination. Given the nomination limit on Departments, some may have a specific selection process in place, and it's recommended to verify this with the HoD. Applications should be sent to

Please note that the deadline for submissions for this prize has now passed.

Questions: If you have a question about the application process/application form, please contact your HoD or 

External Awards

Imperial has been invited to participate in the prizes and awards listed below. Please note that we are only able to submit nominations on behalf of those currently affiliated with Imperial.

If you are interested in nominating someone or being nominated, please send all required submission materials to Lara Breckon ( by the VPRE Office deadline (listed below)

If required, please follow the guidance for Letters of Support.

Information on Prizes and Awards

2025 Blavatnik Awards for Young Scientists


  • Imperial has been invited to nominate up to three outstanding young researchers, one in each of the three disciplinary categories: Chemical Sciences, Physical Sciences & Engineering, and Life Sciences. Nominations must be submitted by the institution’s Official Nominator—self-nominations are not allowed. 
  • The Blavatnik Awards for Young Scientists strives for nominee equality and diversity, and strongly encourages the nomination of women and members of other underrepresented groups in science and engineering. 
  • For full information, please see the 2025 Blavatnik Awards Flyer

The nominee must:  

  • Have been born in or after 1983*.  
  • Hold a doctoral degree (PhD, DPhil, MD, DDS, DVM, etc.).  
  • Currently hold an academic position at an invited institution in the United Kingdom.  
  • Currently conduct research as a principal investigator in one of the disciplinary categories in Life Sciences, Physical Sciences & Engineering, or Chemical Sciences.  
  • The Blavatnik Awards strongly encourages the nomination of women and other underrepresented groups in science and engineering.  

* Age limit exceptions will be considered by the Blavatnik Family Foundation in exceptional circumstances upon a detailed written submission from the nominating institution. Requests for age-limit exceptions and/or re-nomination of previous Finalists due Wednesday 8th May. 

Limited Submission: 

  • Candidates must be nominated by their institution. Self-nominations are not allowed.  
  • Each institution may submit up to three nominations, one in each disciplinary category of Life Sciences, Physical Sciences & Engineering, and Chemical Sciences.  
  • Nominations must be submitted using the online nomination system. 

Nominees and their work as independent investigators will be evaluated according to the following criteria:  

  • Quality: The extent to which the work is reliable, valid, credible, and scientifically rigorous.  
  • Impact: The extent to which the work addresses an important problem, advances scientific progress, and is influential in the nominee’s field, related fields, or beyond, and/or has the potential to benefit society.  
  • Novelty: The extent to which the work challenges existing paradigms, establishes a new field or considerably expands on an existing field, employs original methodologies or concepts, and/or pursues an original question.  
  • Promise: The nominee has potential for further significant contributions to science, and the research program will generate further impactful and novel discoveries. 

Please note that Imperial may only submit one application in each of the three disciplinary categories (Chemical Sciences, Physical Sciences & Engineering, and Life Sciences). Therefore, an internal selection process will be used.  


  • HoDs should submit nominations (max. one nomination per department) to Lara Breckon ( before COB Wednesday 17th April 2024. Nominations will be reviewed by RAG (or a subset of RAG chaired by the Vice-Provost (Research and Enterprise)). This should include: 
    • the nominees name 
    • the nominee’s CV 
    • a half-page outlining the reasons why the nominee is a suitable candidate for the award.  
  • Please note that further materials will be required for successful candidates following the internal submission stage (official deadline 29th May 2024): 
    • Nominator’s Rationale for Nomination (200 words).  
    • Nominee’s Curriculum Vitae.  
    • Nominee’s Research Summary (1,000 words).  
    • Full-text publications and/or patents representing the nominee’s work (up to 4).  
    • Names and email addresses for two letter writers.  
    • Nominee’s Professional Service and Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Statement (1 page) 

We are also aware of the following open calls for nominations (there is no internal process for these awards) :