Faculty fellowshipsFellowships of the Faculty of Medicine were last awarded the the 2014/15 academic year. They were awarded to former members of staff or former students of the Faculty of Medicine who demonstrated outstanding achievements or who rendered exceptional service to the Faculty.

People of outstanding distinction in appropriate fields who are not former members of the Faculty were also awarded Fellowships. Please see Faculty Fellowship Criteria and Fellows (PDF) for further information.


  • Dr Wendy Ewart
  • Dr Rino Rappuoli


  • Professor Sir Malcolm Green
  • Professor Steve Jackson
  • Professor Chen Wang


  • Professor Freddy Boey
  • Professor Patrick Maxwell


  • Professor Christopher Higgins
  • Professor Pontiano Kaleebu
  • Professor Sir Nicholas Wright


  • Prof Janet Darbyshire
  • Professor Dame Sally Davies
  • Professor Hans Clevers


  • Sir John Bell
  • Dr Edward Miller
  • Dame Margaret Turner-Warwick


  • Sir Richard Butler
  • Sir David Cooksey
  • Professor Malegapuru W Makgoba


  • Professor Nirmal Ganguly
  • Professor Patrick Vallance
  • Professor John Savill


  • Professor Solomon R Benatar
  • Dr Mark Walport


  • Professor Emeritus Hugh de Wardener
  • Professor Adetokunbo Lucas
  • Professor Mark Pepys


  • Mr Gavyn Davies, OBE
  • Professor Sir Charles George
  • Professor John Richard Batchelor


  • No Fellowships were awarded in 2002


  • Professor Emeritus Murdo Elder
  • Dr Tadataka Yamada, GSK


  • Professor Emeritus Sir Brian Jarman
  • Professor Emeritus Abe Guz


At the 1999 Fellowship Ceremony, awarded June 1999, the Fellows of the former RPMS were converted to Fellows of Imperial College School of Medicine:

  • Sir Christopher Booth
  • Emeritus Professor Sir John Dacie FRS
  • Selywn F Taylor
  • S M Mellinkoff Esq
  • Sir Godfrey Hounsfield, CBE, FRS
  • Malcolm Godfrey,CBE
  • Professor Priscilla Kincaid-Smith, CBE
  • Professor Leslie Le Quesne, CBE
  • Belding Scribner
  • Professor Dame Sheila Sherlock, DBE
  • VMP Shah
  • M Wohl
  • The Lord Wolfson
  • Mrs Kay Glendinning
  • Professor EGL Bywaters, CBE
  • Professor DG Melrose
  • Professor JG Scadding
  • James A Hartnett, CBE
  • Professor Sir Keith Peters, FRS
  • Professor PJ Lachmann FRS
  • Professor RE Steiner
  • Professor Sir Colin Dollery
  • Sir Christopher Bland

New Fellow 1999

The first new award of Fellow of ICSM was made at the same time to

  • Sir Richard Sykes, Chairman, GlaxoWellcome